Land For Sale Western NY

Population: +2.6 million

Western New York is the westernmost region of New York State that consists of 17 western counties in New York State: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Chemung, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Orleans, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne, Wyoming, and Yates. Depending on who you ask Western New York is in some contexts considered a sub-region of “Upstate New York” (when that term is used to describe all of New York State outside Long Island and the New York City metropolitan area); in other contexts it is considered a separate region from “Upstate.”

While the term usually includes both the Buffalo and Rochester metropolitan areas, occasionally “Western New York” describes only the Buffalo-Niagara region, with Greater Rochester being classified as part of the Finger Lakes Region.

Western New York Sub-Regions

Greater Niagara Region: Niagara, Erie and Wyoming Counties

Genesee Region: Monroe, Livingston, Wayne, Wyoming, Orleans, Ontario and Yates Counties

Chautauqua–Allegheny Region: Chautauqua, Cattaraugus, and Allegany Counties

Western Finger Lakes Region:  Seneca, Steuben, Schuyler, and Chemung Counties

Select land for sale Western NY from waterfront to remote and everything in-between that interests you: